BHP announces changes to executive leadership team

Since May 2020, Basto has been President, Minerals Australia. He Basto has over 30 years of operating experience across BHP’s minerals footprint, including time as Asset President of BHP’s two largest assets, Western Australia Iron Ore and Escondida, and leading BHP’s global Health, Safety and Environment team. 

As President, Australia, Slattery will be responsible for BHP’s Australian operations.  

From March 2019 until the completion of the Woodside merger in June this year, Slattery was President Petroleum and led BHP’s business which included oil and gas interests and development and exploration programs in the US, Australia, Trinidad & Tobago, Algeria, Mexico and Canada. She has 28 years of operational and global leadership experience gained in the UK, Australia and the US.  

Slattery has navigated the Petroleum business through the intensity of the successful merger and integration with Woodside, BHP said, adding that she brings a strong combination of in-field technical expertise, risk management and global leadership experience, and has a track record of generating shareholder value and developing teams with outstanding culture.

“I am pleased to announce these new appointments. Safety and operational reliability are at the heart of value creation at BHP,” CEO Mike Henry said in the statement.

“These two appointments will enable us to build upon the strong performance we have delivered in recent years to drive even better safety and productivity outcomes. Edgar’s and Geraldine’s particular experiences and capabilities as leaders, together with the newly created COO role, will ensure BHP is best placed to continue to operate reliably and deliver value in an increasingly complex and volatile world.”

As a result of these changes, and the recent appointment of Jad Vodopija as Chief People Officer, BHP’s executives leadership team will comprise: 

  • Chief Operating Officer, Edgar Basto 
  • Chief Legal, Governance and External Affairs Officer, Caroline Cox 
  • Chief Financial Officer, David Lamont 
  • Chief Commercial Officer, Vandita Pant 
  • President Australia, Geraldine Slattery 
  • Chief Technical Officer, Laura Tyler 
  • President Americas, Ragnar Udd 
  • Chief Development Officer, Johan van Jaarsveld 
  • Chief People Officer, Jad Vodopija

This post has been syndicated from a third-party source. View the original article here.

Related Articles

Back to top button